Football Season Reviews


Season Champion Highlights Award Winners
2023 Kansas City Once again led by Mahomes, KC wins an exciting game against the 49ers.

MVP - Lamar Jackson

DPY - Myles Garrett

2022 Kansas City Mahomes wins a nail-biter against Philadelphia and Hurts.

MVP - Patrick Mahomes

DPY - Nick Bosa

2021 LA Rams Stafford goes from last to first leading LA past Burrows and the Bengals.

MVP - Aaron Rodgers

DPY - T.J. Watt

2020 Tampa Bay Tom Brady moves to a new team, doesn't miss a beat, and wins another ring.  Covid-19.  Yuck.

MVP - Aaron Rodgers

ROY - Justin Herbert

2019 Kansas City Patrick Mahomes dominates the season, leading the Chiefs to their first championship since the 1969 season.

MVP - Lamar Jackson

ROY - Kyler Murray

2018 New England
Tom Brady throws the perfect pass at the perfect time, and the Patriot defense holds the Rams offense in check, 13-3.
MVP - Patrick Mahomes
ROY - Saquon Barkley
2017 Philadelphia Nick Foles fills in at QB to lead the Eagles to their first Super Bowl championship, defeating the Pats 41-33.
MVP - Tom Brady
ROY - Alvin Kamara
2016 New England The Falcons manage to cough up a 28-3 lead half-way through the third quarter and the Patriots win in OT. MVP - Matt Ryan
ROY - Dak Prescott
2015 Denver Peyton Manning wins his final game by helping Von Miller and his defense defeat Carolina, 24-10.   MVP - Cam Newton
ROY - Todd Gurley
2014 New England The Pats win in part because of an inexplicable play call at the goal line when Seattle looked to be going in for the game-winning score. MVP - AaronRodgers
ROY - Odell Beckham
2013 Seattle The Seahawks dominated during the regular season, and destroyed the Broncos in the Super Bowl, 43-8. MVP - Peyton Manning
ROY - Eddie Lacy
2012 Baltimore The Ravens beat the 49ers in the "Brother Bowl," with head coaches John and Jim Harbaugh calling the shot in an exciting 34-31 Baltimore win. MVP - Adrian Peterson
ROY - Robert Griffin
2011 New York Giants The Giants got hot at just the right time, defeating New England as a 9-7 division winner. MVP - Aaron Rodgers
ROY - Cam Newton
2010 Green Bay The Packers rode the hot hand of Aaron Rodgers and defeated Pittsburgh as a #6 seed.   MVP - Tom Brady
ROY - Sam Bradford
Season Champion Highlights Award Winners
2009 New Orleans
A year after Hurricane Katrina, the Saints, led by QB Drew Brees, defeated the Colts, 31-17.
MVP - Peyton Manning
ROY - Percy Harvin
2008 Pittsburgh The Steelers won their 6th Super Bowl behind their stellar defense and Ben Roethlisberger, defeating the Cardinals, who made it to the championship game for the first time in their history. MVP - Peyton Manning
ROY - Matt Ryan
2007 New York Giants The Gaints won it all as a sixth seed wild card team, beating the Pats in an exciting 17-14 showdown decided in the final minute. MVP - Tom Brady
ROY -Adrian Peterson 
2006 Indianapolis The Colts got by the Pats for the AFC title, then defeated the Bears, 29-17 to give Tony Dungy his first and only Super Bowl championship. MVP - LaDanian Tomlinson
ROY - Vince Young
2005 Pittsburgh The Steelers won it all as a sixth seed wild card team, defeating the Seahawks 21-10 in a close contest that wasn't decided until Antwaan Randle El threw a long TD pass to Hines Ward to seal it.
MVP - Shaun Alexander
ROY - Cadillac Williams
2004 New England Tom Brady and the Patriots defeated Donovan McNabb and the Eagles, 24-21.  The Pats defense forced McNabb into throwing 3 interceptions during the game. MVP - Peyton Manning
ROY - Ben Roethlisberger
2003 New England It looked like OT after Carolina tied the score at 29 with only 1:04 remaining in the game.  But Tom Brady led a drive that allowed Adam Viniatieri to kick the game-winning fielding goal with 4 seconds left. MVP - Steve McNair, Peyton Manning (tie)
ROY - Anquan Boldin
2002 Tampa Bay The Bucs won their first Super Bowl over the suprising Raiders, 48-21.  Tampa Bay had 3 pick-sixes during the play, 2 by CB Dwight Smith. MVP - Rich Gannon
ROY - Clinton Portis
2001 New England A few months after 9-11, the Patriots stymied the heavily-favored Rams by a score of 20-17 as Adam Viniatieri nailed a 48-yard FG as time expired.   MVP - Kurt Warner
ROY - Anthony Thomas
2000 Baltimore Possessing one of the greatest defenses of all time, destroyed the New York Giants 34-7, allowing only 152 total yards in the process. MVP - Marshall Faulk
ROY - Mike Anderson
Season Champion Highlights Award Winners
1999     MVP - 
ROY - 
1998     MVP - 
ROY - 
1997     MVP - 
ROY - 
1996     MVP - 
ROY - 
1995     MVP - 
ROY - 
1994     MVP - 
ROY - 
1993     MVP - 
ROY - 
1992     MVP - 
ROY - 
1991     MVP - 
ROY - 
1990     MVP - 
ROY - 
Season Champion Highlights Award Winners
1989     MVP - 
ROY - 
1988     MVP - 
ROY - 
1987     MVP - 
ROY - 
1986  NY Giants Simms and Taylor romp over Elway and the Broncos. MVP - Lawrence Taylor
ROY - Eric Dickerson
1985  Chicago "Da Bears" dominant defense destroys the Pats from start to finish. MVP - Marcus Allen
ROY - Eddie Brown
1984     MVP - 
ROY - 
1983     MVP - 
ROY - 
1982     MVP - 
ROY - 
1981     MVP - 
ROY - 
1980     MVP - 
ROY - 
Season Champion Highlights Award Winners
1979     MVP - 
ROY - 
1978 Pittsburgh In one of the best Super Bowls ever, Pittsburgh defeated Dallas 35-31 on the strength of Swann and Stalworth's amazing days. MVP - Terry Bradshaw
ROY - Earl Campbell
1977 Dallas  The Cowboys cruise past the Orange Crush defense of Denver, 27-10. MVP - Walter Payton
ROY - Tony Dorsett
1976 Oakland The Raiders crush the Vikings 32-14. MVP - Bert Jones
ROY - Sammy White
1975 Pittsburgh A classic matchup with Dallas, won by the Steelers 21-17. MVP - Fran Tarkenton
ROY - Mike Thomas
1974 Pittsburgh The Steel Curtain defense emerges, stifling Minnesota 16-6 at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans. MVP - Ken Stabler
ROY - Don Woods
1973 Miami  "Zonk" and the 'Phins run over (and over, and over, and...) the Vikings' defense on their way to the championship. MVP - OJ Simpson
ROY - Chuck Foreman
1972 Miami  Washington can't move the ball against the "No Name Defense" of the Dolphins MVP - Larry Brown
ROY - Franco Harris
1971 Dallas Dallas defeats Miami 24-3 in the Super Bowl. MVP - Alan Page
ROY - John Brockington
1970 Baltimore Jim O'Brien kicks a late FG in the Colt's comeback win over Dallas MVP - John Brodie
ROY - Dennis Shaw
Season Champion Highlights Award Winners
1969 Kansas City The Chiefs upset the Vikings in the last year before the merger. MVP - Roman Gabriel
ROY - Calvin Hill, Joe Greene
1968     MVP - 
ROY - 
1967     MVP - 
ROY - 
1966     MVP - 
ROY - 
1965     MVP - 
ROY - 
1964     MVP - 
ROY - 
1963     MVP - 
ROY - 
1962     MVP - 
ROY - 
1961     MVP - 
ROY - 
1960     MVP -